Laundry Day

“Summer will end soon enough, and childhood as well.”

~ George R. R. Martin, A Game of Thrones

I sit here in a pile of dirty laundry. It’s okay, though, I kinda enjoy it. That is because, when I see the son’s dirty clothes, I know things are great. You see, I want my son to get himself dirty. That means he sees, feels, experiences life. Grass stains on the knees, sand in his shoes, flowers in his hair. I want him to eat with his hands, tomato sauce on his white shirt. I want him to lick the melted chocolate from his fingers. Chalk on his jacket, paint on his sleeves, peanut butter on his cheeks. I don’t care. He’s happy. He’s healthy. That’s all that matters. I get things clean again. Much more than the work of doing laundry, I would fear for him to have a sterile childhood…

One thought on “Laundry Day

Leave a Reply

